A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Special Interests > Special Education

Old 06-16-2012, 12:23 PM
Rookie

New Jersey
Middle School Teacher
"Push in" Best Practices - middle school

Hi Everyone, I am wondering if anyone can give me feedback or recommend a resource on best practices for the push in model of teaching special education math in middle schools. I am specifically interested in a recommended ratio of Special Education students to General Education peers in a class. I am a General Education Math teacher in a school where this model is being proposed and I want to be sure that all parties involved are set up to be successful (especially the students). I believe the plan at this point is that half of my class would be Special Ed kids and the 2nd half would be General Ed kids who have lower end math skills. The Special Education math teacher would be with us every day and because it is a math/science block would join us two days a week for science. I could be wrong but I thought that a that the objective for the push in model is to include students into a heterogeneous class and that typically this would be more like 4-5 students out of about 28. Can anybody give me feedback or suggest a resource with data on this?

I know that I depend on heterogeneous classes when I run science labs and this is also worrying me.

Thanks so much!

Old 06-16-2012, 12:26 PM
Phenom

Western USA
K-3 Sped Resource Teacher