A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Grade Specific Forums > Kindergarten

Old 03-26-2012, 08:30 PM
Comrade

Illinois
Elementary-Autism
Order to teach letters

This may be in the wrong area, if it is, please let me know. Im a special education teacher with very little core curriculum background. I have a group of 4 kids with autism in a private day school. I would like to do a letter of the week type thing.

In a typical general education classroom, Is it appropriate to start at the beginning of the alphabet and go in order or are there certain letters I should start with.

Is there a site or something that walks me though this? I'll be doing letters, sight words, and some phonics...I have mostly non-verbal kids (so it will be receptively phonics (for example, what letter says /p/?) One is somewhat verbal, but he has a cleft palate and is hard to understand...hes the one that can read pretty well.

The abilities I have range from no letter recognition at all, to reading about 1st gradish level. Their skills are all over the place. I can modify the activities for everyone but Im not sure where to start....

Thank you

Amy

Old 03-27-2012, 06:11 AM
Enthusiast

A little off center
Montessori & Orton Gillingham tutor
I would never go in order. Once the children know a few letters, you want to get them composing words and reading words ASAP. I usually start with m s t b a so they can make words like mat, bat, sat, then move on to p, h, c, etc.

I would also work on phonological awareness with your kids if they can do it. If you google phonological awareness and phonemic awareness you'll get lots of ideas.
Old 03-27-2012, 06:20 PM
Comrade

Kindergarten Teacher