A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Secondary Education

Old 03-01-2012, 04:35 PM
Rookie

NJ
how to do Jeopardy in the classroom?

I wanted to know if I could get some advice/pointers on how to do a Jeopardy review game in the classroom? I have the powerpoint template and I will be using a projector. My question is... how do you split up the kids? Groups? How do they "buzz" in? How do you keep track of their scores/money earned? I remember doing this when I was a student teacher and it went pretty badly, mostly because I didn't hash out these kinds of details and it was just unorganized. Now I'm older and wiser and want to try again

This is for a high school (somewhat remedial) math class. The past two months have been spent preparing them for a state test... practice test, after practice test, after practice test. I can tell they are burnt out and wanted to do something fun the day before they take it (some kids even asked me when I first took over for the teacher who left: "can we please play Jeopardy?")

Also, any other kinds of fun math-based activities would be appreciated. Sometimes its like pulling teeth just to get them to do anything in that class.

Old 03-01-2012, 04:57 PM
Habitué

California
High school biology
I do Jeopardy review games sometimes. I used to use a PowerPoint template that I found online, but now I set up the game here: http://jeopardylabs.com/ because it allows me to keep track of the score.