A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Elementary Education

Old 10-30-2011, 01:12 PM
Rookie

Florida
Help! My students don't listen!!!

This is my first year teaching, and I've been in the classroom since August. On the first day of school I THOUGHT I had some fairly easy to understand rules in place, and have been going over those rules with each of my 3 5th grade science classes each day. Now it's almost November and I have changed my rules slightly, changed my classroom managment system, changed seats every other week, and still nothing works.

I do the "Give me 5" and they are expected to all raise their hands and drop what they're doing to focus on what I have to say. They don't. I can be in the middle of teaching a lesson and they all just start their own conversations.

The killer is that when they are in class with the other two 5th grade teachers, I know they behave better. It's like when they come into my room they think it's a free-for-all.

I have a new teacher mentor who has been helping me, and both my principal and assistant principal are on my side, but it's starting to drive me crazy that nothin is getting accomplished.

If anyone could just give me some advice on what I could possibly do to save my sanity it would be greatly appreciated!!

Old 10-30-2011, 01:47 PM
Enthusiast

2nd Grade Teacher
Why did you change your management system and rules?

Have you had the chance to speak to the other grade 5 teachers about their management strategies?

Are there consequences for the students who aren't following the rules?
Old 10-30-2011, 01:49 PM
Virtuoso

US of A
3/4, Classical Educator
It's all about learning how to show them that you mean business and being that "tough" teacher who doesn't let you get away with anything.