A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Elementary Education

Old 08-22-2011, 02:30 PM
Rookie

New Teacher Inherits Nasty Classroom!!!

Hi All! I am a new teacher who is very excited about my first year! I am having a problem with the classroom though! The old teacher left EVERYTHING up and didn't clean her desk (all her personal items are EVERYWHERE) or ANYTHING off when she left (she resigned). There are literally dust bunnies and cobwebs hanging off chairs and mold in the sink where she let the paint brushes sit in water over the summer. There is paint on the walls, and it's just awful! There is YEARS worth of unorganized "stuff" and the manipulatives and shelves really need a revamping. I am sick with sinus and allergy infection b/c I went in and cleaned up this past week. We have quite a large allotment for the school year to spend on classroom supplies and stuff. I don't know what to keep or throw away though.
Since everything is so messy (just thrown into boxes, no labels), I feel like tossing it and starting new, but I don't know if I could/should.
And I don't like the round tables in the room and the wooden shelves are just nasty. Where does all this stuff go when a new teacher doesn't need it or wants to upgrade/replace things?
Don't get me wrong, I am happy to finally have my dream job, but I can't be at my full potential until I clean this room thoroughly enough so I won't get sick (I'm a very clean person). I also don't want my kids to get sick. I want to talk to my Principal about it, but feel like maybe he will think I am out of place as a new teacher. What do I do?

Old 08-22-2011, 03:12 PM
Devotee

7th/8th Grade Math