A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Secondary Education

Old 07-03-2011, 04:52 PM
Rookie

1st day Ice Breakers

I am a new math teacher and I am trying to figure out what 1st day ice breakers/activities are really fun for middle schoolers. Some of my classes will have as few as 10 students and others will have around 25 students, so I guess I'll need two different activities due to the number of students. The typical ice breaker seems to be a scavenger hunt where kids walk around gathering signatures based upon questions. This is fine, but it just seems so "typical". Does anyone have any other suggestions? Thank you!!

Old 07-03-2011, 09:29 PM
Companion

Virginia
Math Teacher
this isn't quite what you were asking for, but in my opinion, i spend the first day going over rules, not doing ice breakers.

I know each teacher has their own style, but i feel using that first day to make the rules and expectations clear shows the students what i am expecting.

I hand out the syllabus (I teach high school, I wouldn't do that for middle school) go over it, then hand out a contract with the rules and grading policy clearly stated and have them sign it and make their parents sign it.
Old 07-04-2011, 05:07 AM
Fanatic

Land of Sunshine
MS Language Arts
I have the kids introduce themselves to me. They have a few minutes to think about my questions, then they have to stand up and say them to the class. Usual questions are:

Name?
Age?
Favorite subject & why?
Least favorite subject & why?
Hobbies?
Most interesting scar? (Or something equally silly to break the ice and boring-ness).

After this, I get down into an activity - either a scavenger hunt based on the classroom rules or a learning activity (my P doesn't like us to do rules on the first day - he likes us to jump into curriculum).
Old 07-04-2011, 05:08 AM
Multitudinous

NEW YORK
Math teacher