A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Special Interests > Special Education

Old 06-29-2011, 05:38 PM
Comrade

PA
Elementary Learning Support
Working Memory and Processing Speed Interventions

Many of my students (I teach K/1) have moderate to significant delays in working memory and processing speed. What are some interventions I can put into place to strengthen these two areas of weakness?

I just finished my first year and I'm still learning so anything you can share about these two areas would be extremely helpful.

Old 06-29-2011, 07:29 PM
Multitudinous

USA
Kindergarten Teacher
For working memory, we work a lot with chunking information. Helping students to find chunks and then create mnemonic devices to remember information.

My speech teacher works with students showing them pictures and then having them tell a story about the pictures once they are taken away.
Old 06-29-2011, 07:45 PM
Comrade

PA
Elementary Learning Support
Quote:
Originally Posted by mopar View Post
For working memory, we work a lot with chunking information. Helping students to find chunks and then create mnemonic devices to remember information.

My speech teacher works with students showing them pictures and then having them tell a story about the pictures once they are taken away.
I work on chunks with them quite a bit. I really like the picture idea and can certainly modify that based on each student.
Old 06-29-2011, 07:52 PM
Phenom

Midwest
For me I remember best with songs or little sayings (acronyms). I know little ones really like songs... come up with something to remember their phone number or address. You know like for the notes on the lines of a music graph are FACE.
Old 06-30-2011, 06:46 AM
Multitudinous

USA
Kindergarten Teacher