A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Special Interests > New Teachers

Old 05-15-2011, 04:40 PM
Rookie

What states require only the Praxis to be Highly Qualified to teach a subject?

If I have a degree in Physical Education, I can become highly qualified to teach English or History in the state of Tennessee without having to obtain additional credit hours. All I have to do is pass the test.

Does anyone else know of any other states that does this as well? I've been searching all day and I've ruled out five states so far because they require additional programs or credit hours, as well as a test.

If anyone knows right off hand what their state requires for an endorsement, would you let me know. It would be nice if there was one website that explained all this. I'm just trying to figure out how to become more marketable for getting a job.

Old 05-15-2011, 04:59 PM
Habitué

Elementary School Teacher
Pennsylvania.
http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal...l_add-ons/8632
Old 05-15-2011, 05:03 PM
Companion

IL
Special Education Teacher
Being highly qualified is a NCLB (federal) requirement and most states don't use this as the primary determination of qualifications for teaching.

Most states require an endorsement on a teaching certificate to teach a specific subject. By the looks of what you're saying, if someone already has a teaching certificate, then they can just take the Praxis to be endorsed in another secondary subject?

That's not the case in Illinois.
Old 05-15-2011, 05:11 PM
Aficionado

North Carolina
Middle School Math Teacher
NC is the same. I am certified in middle school math, but I only need to pass the Praxis II tests on content and pedagogy to become highly qualified in high school math as well.

Also, I'm pretty sure TN has reciprocity with NC,so your credentials should transfer. The same is true for GA as well.