A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > Archives (Read-Only) > Archives > General Archives > Elementary Education Archives

Old 09-10-2005, 04:37 PM
Novice

Special Education Teacher
Unhappy Gr. 1 - Gym Class Ideas Please

Hi. I am a first year teacher in Ontario, Canada. The school I am working for gave me the Grade 1 Gym class assignment. I have never taught gym as a student teacher since my placement schools had gym teachers. I have no idea where to start. The school is asking me to play low organizational game, but I believe that 1 hour of game is not a good idea for grade 1s. How can I construct/plan 1 hour of gym lessons for Grade 1? (any idea to include stretch, and other components?) Is there any recommendation you can make as an experienced teacher? Please help me. Thanks.

Old 09-10-2005, 08:48 PM
Cohort

TN
Our PE teacher talks about something called PE central. I think it is a website. You could try looking there for ideas.
Old 09-11-2005, 06:02 AM
Multitudinous

Ontario, Canada
Grade 7
Check your school library, or wherever the professional resources are kept in your school, for the OPHEA document--everything is laid out for you. I used it exclusively 2 years ago when I taught grade 1. There should be a binder in your school for each grade.
Old 09-11-2005, 11:48 AM
Companion

Wisconsin
I am just going to give you a couple of quick ideas that our gym teacher uses: