A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Secondary Education

Old 10-02-2010, 03:19 PM
Companion

Central Coast, California, USA
Resource Teacher (SPED)
Activities for homeroom?

I'm a brand new Resource teacher at a middle school. I JUST started last Tuesday! For the remaining week I have my resource students in a 15 minute homeroom period at the beginning of the day. The teacher before me said she did review activities in homeroom but I am not yet familiar with what is going on in the classrooms. What sort of activities can I do with them for the rest of the week?

Old 10-02-2010, 03:25 PM
Multitudinous

USA
Kindergarten Teacher
I would take some time to read aloud to them, re-teach basic math concepts (multiplication, division, etc), have them journal, read silently, check their assignment notebooks.

Maybe on a different note-teach some organization or study strategies to the students. Many middle school students don't know how to use their assignment notebook, read a textbook, or study for a test...
Old 10-02-2010, 08:27 PM
Habitué

Pennsylvania
High School English Teacher
Activities......for HOMEROOM??? Have them raise their hand and say, "Present." (Just kidding. It just struck me odd that homeroom would be for anything but attendance-taking.)
Old 10-02-2010, 09:37 PM
Connoisseur

California
SPED 9-12
http://charactercounts.org/lesson-plans/index.html

Our school wants us to have a very productive homeroom. I started using the Character Counts lessons last week. What a difference. The kids found the topics very engaging. I supplemented the lesson plans with powerpoints.

It could be a good way to start the day in a positive manner.
Old 10-03-2010, 11:50 AM
Groupie

Pennsylvania