A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > Archives (Read-Only) > Archives > General Archives > Early Childhood Education Archives

Old 08-07-2005, 02:28 PM
Newcomer

Illinois
3 Yr old curriculum

Hello I am new here. I was a Kdg teacher for 3 years and left to have my baby. But I just got a call from my old job asking me to come back to work doing a 3yr old half day pre-school. I have no idea what the curriculum for 3yr olds. Can someone please give me some ideas? I plan on doing some cooking, songs, independant play, show and tell, and crafts. Do you do monthly themes? How much detail do I give about learning numbers, letters, and colors. Any advice is appreciated!

Old 08-07-2005, 03:02 PM
Rookie

Indiana
We work on the calendar using a days and months of the year song. We work on number rec. and counting while we figure out what the date is. We work on shapes, colors, name recognition, writing name and introduce the name of the letters. We work on table manners during snack, let the children pour their own drinks, sharing, using words to express your needs and feelings. We have an art experience every day. We sing for about 20 min everyday, using lots of finger plays for fine motor skills and crossing the mid-line of the body. We read a story or two everyday.
Old 08-07-2005, 03:59 PM
Aficionado

Wisconsin
Former Pre-K and Elem. Teacher