A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Grade Specific Forums > Middle School / Junior High

Old 08-19-2010, 10:47 AM
Rookie

7th Grade Social Studies Teacher
7th Grade Classroom Layout

Hi, all. I'm a new first year teacher and I'll be teaching 7th grade social studies. I have some questions about layout and what is appropriate for this age group.

I have a long, narrow classroom currently jammed with long desks that have the seats attached to them. There is little room for anything in the classroom and I'm still trying to figure out if I can fit a teacher desk in there at all.

I found out today that the previous teacher in the room who has moved to a different room used tables. I think tables would be a better use of space and wouldn't feel so claustrophobic.

The whiteboard is on one end of the room while the TV/DVD/computer hook up is on the opposite end. Students would have to turn uncomfortably in their seats or turn their whole desks around. I can't even put the desks into groups because of the chair attachments.

To me, it would seem tables are the best way to go, especially since I hope to do many group-based or project-based activities. My concern is behavior/classroom management. I had heard that tables might be harder for newer teachers to handle. Is that true?

I just want everyone to be comfortable and for the room to not feel so claustrophobic. I know 7th grade is a difficult time for students and I don't want to make things worse. Thanks

Old 08-19-2010, 10:55 AM
Multitudinous

USA
Kindergarten Teacher
I grouped my desks from day 1 in my first teaching position and didn't find it harder for behavior. So, I think tables would be the way to go. What I liked was that I could see all the students this way. When I have used rows, I found it harder to get to all the students and more difficult to see them all...