A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Secondary Education

Old 08-07-2010, 12:34 PM
Novice

California
Middle school remedial math

I've been teaching middle school math for a couple of years. This year I'm picking up a new prep, Math Matters, which is for kids who need extra help. They still are in regular prealgebra as well. I am trying to figure out how to structure the class, and how to grade it. Do I give homework over and above what they are getting in their regular class? How do I assess - do I give separate tests? I really would want to grade partly for effort in this class, but that is so hard to quantify!

I am actually excited about this because I find it so satisfying when the kids who had been struggling start getting it. I'm just having trouble with the details!

Has anyone else ever taught a class like this, and have any advice for me? Thanks!

Old 08-07-2010, 01:03 PM
Companion

Middle School Teacher