A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Grade Specific Forums > Preschool

Old 08-03-2010, 07:24 PM
Companion

Your circle time for 3 year olds??

Hi,
I have gotten some wonderful ideas on this site that I'm using at circle time, but I'm new to teaching 3's, and wonder if I should be doing something more.
Here is what I do for circle time:
  • Circle time song
  • Welcome song
  • Counting activity (We count while we jump, kick, twist etc.)
  • Discussion/ activity centered around topic

I don't have a closing song, and ending circle time, admittedly, feels a bit awkward. I also don't do calendar since I think many of them don't really have the attention span for it. If we are moving and/or singing they do pretty well, but they don't do talking. I read our book at snack time.

Anyway, I would love to hear what you do.

Thanks!

Old 08-03-2010, 08:03 PM
Companion

Pennsylvania
Preschool Teacher
Not at the beginning of the year but circle eventually looks like this:

hello song
Day of the week (we don't do cal. but have a 7 day chart and we mark school and home days) and Leader and Tail
Read the Busy Bee board (morning message) and do the activitiy - sort letters, play a game, learn a new song, etc.
question of the day (they answer a yes no question as part of our beginning routine - we count how many yes and nos and I model write the numbers on the board, we talk about more, less, the same)
Do an activity with one of the #s from ques. of the day - jump, turn, twist)
I explain the small group centers