A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Special Interests > Special Education

Old 07-31-2010, 07:50 AM
Companion

New York
Interview: Teachers Aide for children with autism

I have an interview Monday morning at a private school that specializes in the education of children with autism. I would be in a self-contained classroom where there are six children, one teacher, and three teacher's aides. The duties are listed as: Utilizing ABA techniques 1 on 1 w/ students. Since my degree is in Elementary Education, not Special Education, I am little worried about what questions I will be asked. I have knowledge of ABA because my nephew used to receive it but I hope I don't get stumped. I have never interviewed for a Teachers Aide position and I'm assuming that means I'm going to have a different set of questions.

What are some questions that I should expect?

What are some questions that I should not forget to ask? One that I plan on asking is about training and professional development. Another is about what the schedule is like for the class and what my duties would be within that.

How much should a Teachers Aide make per hour in NYC?

If you can help put my mind at ease too, I'd appreciate it.

Old 07-31-2010, 09:07 AM
Cohort

Alberta, Canada
Special Education Teacher
Some possible questions that might come up

- situational questions related to students - what would you do if kind of things - probably will include what you do when a student gets physically aggressive either towards himself or to others
- what experiene/training do you have with ABA
- do you have CPI training?
- what do you know about PECS?
- questions related to how you would get along with that many other adults in the room
- questions as to how you would handle situations where you don't agree with what the teacher is asking you do to