A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > Archives (Read-Only) > Archives > General Archives > General Education Archives

Old 07-09-2005, 08:27 PM
Newcomer

Virginia
Red face Help with Introduction Letter

Hey everyone! My name is Leah and I am a new teacher. Can anyone email an example of an introduction letter they use to the parents. I am starting my first year in 3rd grade and have no idea what to write. Thanks!

Old 07-10-2005, 04:07 PM
Habitué

WA
3rd Grade Teacher
This is a letter that I sent out at the beginning of last year. I will have to modify it when that time comes because I have switched grade levels, but feel free to do what you'd like with it.

Andrea

September 2004

Dear Parents and Students,

Welcome to a new school year! I hope you enjoyed your summer vacation. I would like to take a few moments to introduce myself. My name is (insert name here) and I will be your child's teacher this school year. This is my third year teaching, my second year at (insert school here). I have a Bachelor of Arts degree in elementary education. As an educator, I value my job and the opportunity that I will have to teach your child the requirements he/she will need to complete by the end of this school year successfully. Your child’s success in my classroom is my number one priority.

Fourth Grade is a challenging year that asks students to not only increase his/her skills and knowledge, but to also independently demonstrate skills that he/she has acquired, explain the strategies that he/she used, and support his/her ideas with references from the text and other resources. Your child will be assigned a couple of major projects that he/she will be expected to complete at home. The Washington Assessment of Student Learning (WASL) is also this year. This is a test to evaluate the skills that your child has acquired to this point of his/her education.