A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > Archives (Read-Only) > Archives > General Archives > New Teachers Archives

Old 06-30-2005, 04:10 PM
Newcomer

FL
new 5th grade teacher

I am new to this forum and it looks like there is a lot of good advice here.

I am a new 5th grade teacher (with the exception of 15 years pre-k experience). Does anyone have any advice on things I should be doing? My classroom is under construction and the previous teacher has not moved her things. I have worked on helpers, homework chart, parent letter, room arrangement (to some extent) and some other things.

I have also been told to avoid playing "games" the first day; however I am a strong advocate for the Kagan Strategies. What do you all think? What would be some things to shoot for during the first week of school?

Rosebud

Old 07-01-2005, 07:12 AM
Cohort

read harry wong's book "the first days of school." i love the advice he gives.

also i just finished reading "101 ways to make your classroom special" by james d. sutton. he has some magnificent ideas as well.

good luck! fifth grade is a lot of fun.
LC
Old 07-01-2005, 08:58 AM

Florida
Well, I advocate playing games the first day, so I guess it all depends. I think they break the ice nicely and indicate that you, as a teacher, believe learning is fun.

There is a lot available on this site about the beginning of the year. Why don't you browse through old threads and then check back with specific needs? You will get lots of advice! Use the search feature at the top and put in phrases - first day, first week, back to school, new teachers ....

Welcome to the best grade - 5th (I'm not prejudiced, really).
Old 07-01-2005, 12:23 PM
Newcomer

North Carolina