A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > Archives (Read-Only) > Archives > General Archives > New Teachers Archives

Old 06-16-2005, 11:17 AM
Companion

Virginia
Letter home to introduce yourself

Does anyone have any samples they would care to share of a letter you send home in the beginning of the year to introduce yourself to your students. I am new to the school and thought it would be a good idea to send a letter telling a little about myself and what I expect of the year to come so my students and parents can "meet" me.

Old 06-18-2005, 05:33 AM
Habitué

NH/USA
currently tutoring
I always send a letter home to both students and parents, along with a small project for students to bring in the first day of school for an ice breaker. I tell a bit about myself, family, pets, personal interests. Then a bit about what we will be doing in the classroom. I usually have a picture of myself on the student letter so they will know what I look like. Then I explain about the project to bring into school.
Old 06-18-2005, 08:27 AM
Devotee

Ontario, Canada
Middle School Teacher
Here's mine:

Dear Parents/Guardians:

I would like to take this opportunity to welcome you and your child to a new year at (school). I am looking forward to getting to know you and your child throughout the coming year, which surely promises to bring with it, many new experiences and challenges. In order to make the year a successful one, teamwork and cooperation will be required by all. As your son or daughter’s teacher, it is my goal to help him/her become a confident learner and I will do my best to help make this year a positive experience for your child.

I have included an outline of the routines and expectations for this year. Please read through the information with your child and keep it for future reference.