A to Z Teacher Stuff ~ Teacher Resources, Lesson Plans, Themes, Tips, Printables, and more
advertise
Go Back   A to Z Teacher Stuff Forums > TeacherChat Forums > Grade Specific Forums > Kindergarten

Old 03-14-2010, 10:13 PM
Companion

1st Grade Teacher
Resume help...needed by a first year teacher!

Hello, if you are reading this, thank you for taking the time to do so! I am a current first year teacher, teaching PreK. I am applying to a school district for a Kindergarten position, but I am unsure of what "college" material now needs to be on my resume. For example, would professional organizations, service activities, student teaching need to be on there anymore?

What do you include on your resume?

I have so far my objective, education, honors, certification, professional teaching experience, professional development....but now I'm unsure of what should be added as I am no longer a college student but a teacher!

Any help is greatly appreciated, thank you!

Old 03-15-2010, 12:41 AM
Rookie

AK/CA/OR
K/1/2/5
I'm sure you've done the "google-search" of teacher resume examples to view inspirations. There are SO many opinions about what to include. I really don't think there's one right answer. My first resume (right after student teaching) looks completely different than my current resume (now that I've had several years of experience). And each resume landed me multiple interviews (proving that principals value all sorts of resumes!)

Currently, my resume is only one page (that's important IMO), but I think that if you have room you should definitely include the items you mentioned. There's absolutely NOTHING wrong with including "professional organizations, service activities, student teaching, honors," and so on.

This is a glimpse of what mine looks like...

Objective
Dedicated, creative teacher seeking a classroom teaching position.
Summary of Qualifications
• Three years of fulltime teaching experience in grades K and 2 with the "Blank" District