Zero communication from principal

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Lindsnh, Oct 3, 2008.

1. Lindsnh

Lindsnh Companion

Oct 3, 2008

I am a first year teacher and my P has very poor communication skills. Examples:

Someone broke into our school Wed. night the next morning we had busted glass in the front office. We only knew someone broke in from the secretary b/c they stole her computer as well as a lap top and webcam that is used for visitors to check in on. On her hard drive is all the teachers personal info. The principal did not call an emergency meeting nor did he send any emails explaining details. The custodians think someone was actually hiding in the building b/c there was no forced entry except to the office..

Today a parent comes to my door here is how it went
    Parent: ms____?
    me: yes
    Parent: I wanted to show my son where is class is, and show you to him. Does he just come in here on Monday morn?
    me: no students go to the cafeteria in the mornings
    Parent: No will he come here....is his transfer stuff in order
    me: have you talked to attendance?
    Parent: No I talked to the P on Wednesday

I am clueless to what is going on so I sent her to the attendance. office
    Come to find out he was in another teacher's class and the mom wants him out...so he is now in my class. The way I found out was one of my students said "Ms. ____ Bobby is in Ms____ class why is he coming to ours?" So now Monday I am going to have to explain to the mom I was not aware of what was going on ...she prob thinks I am an idiot!

Last but not least
    We have a new way to sign in...no one was told the new way yet yesterday the new way was set up and the old way was gone! No one knew what to do!

I have a feeling we are going to have a huge turn over at the end of the school year. I have to stay for three years per my contract.
    Anybody Else's P this bad?

3. mandagap06

mandagap06 Devotee

Oct 3, 2008