ZA Endorsement...worth it?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Rebecca1122, Sep 23, 2008.

1. Rebecca1122

Rebecca1122 Comrade

Sep 23, 2008

Hi there-
    I am currently an undergraduate student working toward my degree in Elementary Ed. I am considering adding a child development minor to my studies in order to obtain the Early Childhood ZA endorsement. My question is...is it worth it? Will the ZA make me more marketable...is it beneficial in the long run or to get a job initially? Any info you can provide on pros and cons of this issue would be appreciated. If anyone has the ZA and could share their thoughts/feelings on it that would be great. I am interested in mainly the lower prek-2 grades, which is one of the main reasons I think it would be helpful. Adding this minor to get certified would probably mean another semester of school so I am debating it a lot. Thanks in advance!! :help:

3. cheeryteacher

cheeryteacher Enthusiast

Sep 23, 2008

Can you explain what the ZA is? All states have their terms for their different certifications. ZA must be a Michigan certification term.

I would say that any certification above and beyond the general certification will make you more marketable. Just be sure it's actually something you want to teach, don't just add something because you can. For instance, I would need an addition to my license to teach kindergarten, but would never do it because I never want to teach K. I would, however, add a middle school math endorsement to my license because I like the older grades and I love math. Adding the K endorsement or the math endorsement would make me more marketable, but I wouldn't waste my time adding something I don't plan to ever teach.

4. Rebecca1122

Rebecca1122 Comrade

Sep 24, 2008