Your circle time for 3 year olds??

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by SamIAm, Aug 3, 2010.

1. SamIAm

SamIAm Companion

Aug 3, 2010

Hi,
    I have gotten some wonderful ideas on this site that I'm using at circle time, but I'm new to teaching 3's, and wonder if I should be doing something more.
    Here is what I do for circle time:
    • Circle time song
    • Welcome song
    • Counting activity (We count while we jump, kick, twist etc.)
    • Discussion/ activity centered around topic

I don't have a closing song, and ending circle time, admittedly, feels a bit awkward. I also don't do calendar since I think many of them don't really have the attention span for it. If we are moving and/or singing they do pretty well, but they don't do talking. I read our book at snack time.

Anyway, I would love to hear what you do.

Thanks!

3. K3 teacher

K3 teacher Companion

Aug 3, 2010

Not at the beginning of the year but circle eventually looks like this:

hello song
    Day of the week (we don't do cal. but have a 7 day chart and we mark school and home days) and Leader and Tail
    Read the Busy Bee board (morning message) and do the activitiy - sort letters, play a game, learn a new song, etc.
    question of the day (they answer a yes no question as part of our beginning routine - we count how many yes and nos and I model write the numbers on the board, we talk about more, less, the same)
    Do an activity with one of the #s from ques. of the day - jump, turn, twist)
    I explain the small group centers

It takes a long time to get here but most of the activities are really short and we always do some music in between each one. The longest activity is the morning message - probably about 5 minutes but it always has an active component to it- the rest take 2 min or less each. So eventually circle time lasts about 15 minutes - depending on how many stand up and move songs I do

4. brejohnson88

brejohnson88 Comrade

Aug 3, 2010