You'll get much more respect as a regular teacher.....NOT!

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Davidfizix, Nov 1, 2009.

1. Davidfizix

Davidfizix Rookie

Nov 1, 2009

When I was a substitute teacher and complaining about how little respect I got, someone online said, "Oh, you'll get much more respect as a regular teacher." If I saw that person in real life, I would shout out the BS word to him (you know what I mean). I'm now a regular teacher, and I'm still constantly being treated like a SUB. It's very very frustrating, because I'm the permanent teacher and I see them everyday and I'm STILL not getting the respect I should have. One period, I hardly get to teach much because of all the disruptive and disrespectful students. In that period, I'm more like a "security guard" than a teacher. Another period is almost as bad, and they're not learning much either. There's only one period that's actually decent, but even then there are a couple of disrespectful students. I'm awed at how disrespectful students are nowadays. I thought I was supposed to get respect as a regular teacher!!! I'm not a freaking sub anymore!!!!
    I seriously want to teach in a private school, where the parents are paying for their kids to be there, so therefore I won't have nearly as many discipline issues and I will be respected (for the most part) and I will actually get to TEACH!!!

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Nov 1, 2009

Respect doesn't come because one has a specific job title. Respect is earned.

How do you manage disruptive students? What is your behavior management plan? You might need to 'tighten up' what you are doing and let the kids know that you're 'in charge'.

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Nov 1, 2009

Parents who pay tuition don't always translate into kids who are respectful. They're two different issues.