you lost my paper!

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Kenz501, Dec 2, 2017.

1. Kenz501

Kenz501 Comrade

Dec 2, 2017

I teach seventh grade, and this is a complaint I hear quite often from students who don't turn things in, don't put their names on it, or turn things in to the wrong place. It's my first year teaching at a junior high school, and I don't want to put up with extra reasons for anyone to think I'm an incompetent educator. Unfortunately, though, I'm a little disorganized and have trouble multitasking, so this is something I guess the kids think they can get away with pretty easily.

The students have designated binders that they keep in the classroom at all times. I was wondering if it would be too lazy of me just to have the students transfer their homework into their binders instead of turn it in and then just let me come around and check the binders every day or every other day. That way, the paper will never leave the student's binder, and it will only mean that I have to stay after school an additional hour or so getting everything graded. Plus, I get the added benefit of helping my students stay organized. What do you think?

I guess that's a terrible strategy for this age group, as it teaches them that they can be lazy and get away with it, but right now it feels like if a student loses a paper, the responsibility ends up falling back on me, anyway. They know I'll give them extensions, print out new worksheets, and basically do what I can to help them catch up, and I just want to stop this. I'm disorganized enough and have had to make major adjustments just to effectively do this job. Expecting me to help a thirteen year-old get organized is just not a good expectation to have when I'm still struggling to get myself organized.

Last edited: Dec 2, 2017
  3. Kenz501

Kenz501 Comrade

Dec 2, 2017