Yipee!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Ruby731, Aug 12, 2007.

1. Ruby731

Ruby731 Rookie

Aug 12, 2007

I got a job teaching the grade I love, and was really excited that I got to see my classroom for the first time on Friday. After the initial high wore off that this was MY classroom I started to think about setting everything up. I'm a new teacher, so I have A LOT to get. Now I'm sure that everyone has heard this a million times but I'll say it again. Try your local thrift store! I could believe how much a got for about $50. A really nice, upholstered, thick cushioned chair for my read alouds was only $3.99- no typo. I got nice sheets to put over the old blinds for 2.99, even office supplies among other things. I shopped at an "Arc" thrift store which supports people with develomental disabilities which is nice to know that your money is "doing something productive". Anyway, just wanted to share that with everyone. Next time you shop for school stuff don't forget about the thrift shops. Helping you not go broke, getting stuff for you classr, and helping the community- everyone wins. :)

3. wldywall

wldywall Connoisseur

Aug 12, 2007

Good deal! I think you did good. I haven't tried one yet and I still need a bar stool chair to rest against while teaching.......ummm, maybe I will go to one tomorrow.......

4. kiraj

kiraj Companion

Aug 12, 2007

Great idea! That's on my list of "to-dos" this week as I set up my first classroom too.

5. hernandoreading

hernandoreading Comrade

Aug 12, 2007