Yikes! Ordering supplies for the first time!

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by JerseyEnglish, Jul 4, 2007.

1. JerseyEnglish

JerseyEnglish Rookie

Jul 4, 2007

Hi Everyone!

I hope you all enjoyed the holiday! I know this may seem really simple to some of you, but I am in the need of some advice. I am a first year teacher and I will be teaching 12th Grade English. I am in the process of ordering my classroom supplies. I have a stapler, tape, and chalk already provided for me. Any advice on what I should choose for my classroom and students?

Thanks!:)

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jul 4, 2007

Are you paying for these supplies on your own or is this order going through the school? Your lists will probably be very different depending on who's paying for it.

Things I would probably buy or order through the school are:

A variety of colored pens for grading. I like purple and green instead of red.
    Dry erase markers if necessary
    Loose leaf paper
    Plenty of 3-ring binders. I file using binders instead of my filing cabinet. It's much easier for me this way.
    Digital clock with timer
    Scissors for me
    Packing tape for hanging posters
    Dictionaries/lexicons
    Kleenex and hand sanitizer (I offer extra credit to students who bring this in)
    Art supplies (crayons, markers, glitter, glue, etc.)
    Stretchy book covers, index cards, dry erase markers, pencils for students to purchase from me at cost
    Calculator with a large display
    Stackable desk trays
    Plastic totes with lids in a variety of sizes for storing extra supplies
    Cough drops, Excedrin, tampons, gum, $10 in quarters, and a box of Nutrigrain bars
    Case of bottled water
    3-hole punch
    Binder clips in a variety of sizes and large butterfly clips
    Fabric to cover my bulletin board and to make a curtain for the door window

4. JerseyEnglish

JerseyEnglish Rookie

Jul 4, 2007

Thanks for replying Cassie!