Yearbook fundraiser ideas?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by bonnjer, Aug 11, 2007.

1. bonnjer

bonnjer Rookie

Aug 11, 2007

As part of my desktop publishing class, I will be handling the yearbook. This is my first time to take on the yearbook publication, so I'm turning to everyone here for some ideas on fundraisers, both at school and away from school. I'll have about 25 students total that can work on it. What things have worked for you in the past? What has not worked so well? Any ideas are greatly appreciated!

Jeremy

3. hernandoreading

hernandoreading Comrade

Aug 11, 2007

When I was in high school, the big fund raiser for the yearbook was selling ads to local businesses to put in the book. Stuff like "Mom's Eats is Proud of the Graduates of 200X" with the company logo & such. Other than that, we didn't do any fund raisers.

4. bandnerdtx

bandnerdtx Aficionado

Aug 11, 2007

For my staff, 90% of the money comes from yearbook sales and ad sales. Does your book have "vanity" ads for seniors at the back of the book?

The remainder of our money comes from "Coronation" which is the big ceremony where we name "Most popular" and all that stuff for each grade level. It's a big formal event. If your school will allow it, you can also host a yearbook distribution party at the end of the year. For $5 the kids WHO PURCHASED THE BOOK can come met in the gym, have some popcorn and a soda and sign each other's books.

I've been teaching yearbook/journalism for years. PM me if you need anything. :D

5. silverspoon65

silverspoon65 Enthusiast

Aug 12, 2007

We sold ads in yearbook, too, but some schools, like the one where I teach now, don't like that. (Personally I think it is nice for local businesses to have messages to the seniors) We also sold space for messages from home for senior parents to put in their baby pics, etc. It was a big deal in school, and you would be mad if your parents didnt put an ad in.

6. interart

interart Rookie

Aug 25, 2007