Would I be crazy to go back to school at age 57 to become a teacher????

Discussion in 'Debate & Marathon Threads Archive' started by FuntoLearn, Feb 1, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FuntoLearn

FuntoLearn Rookie

Feb 1, 2013

Would I be crazy to go back to school at age 57 to get a teaching degree? (I guess I don't feel that old because I had my children late in life--my youngest is only a freshman in high school. ) Would anyone even hire me being a "newbie" at that age? I am mainly interested in teaching elementary school. I'm not fussy about what grade, and would consider teaching in a private, Christian school, though I know they don't pay very well (to put it mildly!)

I have a degree in architecture (I did originally start out, though, as an education major!) and enjoyed that career "somewhat" for many years, but grew tired of it and longed to go into teaching. I did substitute teach for three years before having kids (18 years ago), then became a stay-at- home mom, and ended up homeschooling my kids through 8th grade (and taught at some co-ops and a hybrid classical homeschool/school called a "tutorial" service .) I am now subbing again. I would prefer to be the regular teacher, though! I don't think I've ever met a child that I didn't like (even the trouble-makers--though they can be difficult to deal with at times.) I would love to be able to come up with my own lesson plans, and to really get to know the kids.

I have been exploring the options for getting a teaching certificate. I could get a Master's of Ed or Teaching, or a "post-badclaureate "teaching degree in a few years and even do it online. However, it would be quite an investment in time and money. And when I was done, I would be near 60. Would anyone even hire me at that age???? How do districts look on online graduate degrees with first-time teachers?