Working Towards Becoming a HS Teacher?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by MWM958, May 4, 2013.

1. MWM958

MWM958 Rookie

May 4, 2013

Hey guys, this is my first post, so I guess I should introduce myself. I'm a 20-year-old student at Seton Hall in NJ, and I'm going to be a Junior in the Fall.

I would absolutely love to become a High School History Teacher. And for this reason, I'm probably going to apply to the Teach for America program in my Senior Year (and yes, I know the negatives about it, and I've accepted it).

The problem is, I'm not majoring in Education. I'm double majoring in History and Political Science, so I'm going for the Alternative Route. So I won't be able to do the whole Student Teaching thing.

So what should I do to work towards my goal of becoming a High School History teacher? I currently teach Sunday School in Newark, as well as teaching ESL and tutoring some young adults in Paterson, so I can have some stuff on my resume. But what else could I do?

I'm having trouble finding internships, as a lot of them are unpaid, and I'm broke so I just simply cannot be wasting time not earning money.

What do you guys recommend for me, as a Junior in Undergrad? I wanna be able to get experience, and make connections and what not, so what could I do?

Would appreciate any help! Thanks!

3. Mr.history

Mr.history Cohort

May 5, 2013

I graduated last may and I just landed my first job as a US history teacher which will start in August. Here is my advice: