Won't get paid until September! Help!

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by bluegill, Sep 2, 2014.

1. bluegill

bluegill Rookie

Sep 2, 2014

I am a first year teacher; I accepted a job in a rural district. My daily commute is 85 miles 1 way. I am struggling to make ends meet right now. Rent is due, bills are due, college loans are due, and gas is very expensive. I just found out I will not get paid until September 20th. I don't know what I can do. I am going to talk to the business manager this afternoon to see if there are any options.

What can I do? My wife got paid from her school but it is not enough to cover the expenses. The last time I got paid was in July and I am down to $300.

3. myKroom

myKroom Habitué

Sep 2, 2014

Definitely talk to the business manager...two of the districts I've been in it was possible for new teachers to receive a portion of their check on Sept. 1 and the remainder on pay day for the exact reason you are talking about.

4. kcjo13

kcjo13 Phenom

Sep 2, 2014

You might also check in with local churches or ministerial alliances. I know our MA does assistance short term and short notice, if it is documented and a pressing need.

There may be other community groups or associations that can offer fast assistance.

I'm sorry that this is happening to you. The reflection on how this country treats teachers is not lost on me here.

5. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Sep 2, 2014

I'm so sorry that you're having to go through this. I know it was hard my first year going between the current job and teaching. Luckily my district provided their new teachers with the opportunity to get paid over 13 months and so we received our first paychecks in Aug. I know it's a bit late for that so hopefully you can find other resources.

6. daisycakes

daisycakes Companion

Sep 2, 2014