Women: Business Casual

Discussion in 'General Education' started by maestraraven96, Aug 11, 2018.

1. maestraraven96

maestraraven96 Rookie

Aug 11, 2018

Hi,
    I am a new teacher and the dress code for my school is business casual. The principal told me
    business casual has become more subjective over the years, so she wants to be more professional?
    I tend to wear a lot of dresses. What types of dresses would be business casual? Or other outfits.
    Thank you

3. dgpiaffeteach

dgpiaffeteach Aficionado

Aug 11, 2018

Dress pants and blouses should work. I would personally say dress pants and a nice sweater would also work but that's more subjective. Lots of really nice blazers out there that can help dress up an outfit!

otterpop likes this.
  4. vickilyn

vickilyn Virtuoso

Aug 11, 2018

A better question would be, what kind of dresses are you planning to wear? Too short, too revealing - well, I think that indicates NOT acceptable as business casual. Modest is the one word that comes to mind - look nice without trying to look overtly sexy. I wear pants, and it means neat, clean, not jeans, not skin tight, with tops that are, once again, not too revealing. Staff is held to the same dress code as students. No bra straps showing, nothing see through, shoes with backs - those are just basics. It is really common sense. I almost always have a sweater or jacket with me, more because our A/C is unpredictable.

A lot will depend on the age range you are teaching.

Last edited: Aug 11, 2018
  5. ssgirl11

ssgirl11 Companion

Aug 11, 2018

Wrap dresses, denim dresses, maxi dresses, and my personal favorite: t-shirt dresses (dressed up with accessories, of course.) When it gets cooler, riding boots with sweaters are a great option.

6. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

Aug 11, 2018

My rule of thumb is: If you put it on and question it when you look in the mirror, then you should probably change before you leave the house.

nstructor likes this.
  7. catnfiddle