Why Can't I Land an Interview?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Marvista2091, May 28, 2019.

1. Marvista2091

Marvista2091 New Member

May 28, 2019

I just finished my Credential program (Single Subject English) this month and I have applied already to at least 20 schools in the Southern California area, but I have not even landed an interview. The majority of the schools I've applied to on Edjoin have not even viewed my application or sent out a rejection, so I am getting very anxious.

I am wondering if it is because I am a newbie and these schools are looking for someone with more experience? But I am also wondering why the districts do not even view my application even though they posted the jobs in April or early May...

I also wanted to know where charter/private schools usually post their hiring opportunities. I have only really looked at Edjoin for job opportunities for this coming school year, but I haven't really seen charter/private schools flying any positions near me (I'm looking at a 40 mile radius around me). Do you think it's just because there aren't any openings, or am I looking in the wrong place?

Any help would be so greatly appreciated!!!

3. Baroness

Baroness Rookie

May 28, 2019

The public and private schools near me post employment opportunities on their websites. Sometimes schools just don't keep up with their websites and don't remove the listings right away. Have you tried calling the school districts? Or stopping by the school board office to talk to someone in person? Keep on trying. Good luck!!

futuremathsprof likes this.
  4. FutureTeacher87

FutureTeacher87 Rookie

May 28, 2019

Definitely take advantage of the district's teacher job fairs when they become available. I also agree with the above comment about stopping by the school board office in person. Best of luck!!!

futuremathsprof likes this.
  5. geoteacher

geoteacher Habitué

May 28, 2019