which job is the best for preparing teacher intern?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by sally0902, Mar 5, 2018.

1. sally0902

sally0902 Rookie

Mar 5, 2018

My major is math (secondary teaching plan), but I have some experiences on teaching kids (tutor for elementary school level). I do not have any degree on child education.
    My question is: if my major has nothing to do with child education, can I be a math elementary teacher?
    If I want to be a secondary teacher, which job is the best choice in order to apply intern program?
    1. math tutor in high school
    2. math tutor in elementary school
    3. teacher's assistant

Based on my experience, which way should be easier and faster for me to be a teacher?
    elementary school (have experiences but no major) or secondary school(have majored but no experiences)?
    Thank you so much

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Mar 6, 2018

sally0902, I'm aware from what you've posted elsewhere that you plan to teach in California.

To teach in California, it IS necessary to have a bachelor's degree, but it is NOT necessary to have a bachelor's degree in education. Up until just the last couple of years, in fact, darned few California universities even offered undergraduate degrees in education (and most CSUs still don't). Instead, they offer post-bachelor's credential programs.

According to the state of California, you can be eligible to work as a day-to-day substitute if you possess any sort of bachelor's degree, once you've passed CBEST. Some districts choose to require that even day-to-day substitutes be credentialed; your local county office of education (COE), or in Orange County the Department of Education, can probably tell you which districts in your area require credentials for day-to-substitutes and which don't.