Which is your favorite grade level to teach? Elementary? Middle school? High school?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by alonzo9772, Sep 23, 2017.

1. alonzo9772

alonzo9772 New Member

Sep 23, 2017

I am now studying for my teaching license. I decided to do the EC-6th grade exam.

Anyone here that has taught in all 3 school levels?

The reason why I chose elementary school is because that is the stage in life before the children think of adults as idiots. Then once they get to 12 years old, they begin getting the whole "Whatever! You aren't the boss of me," attitude.

If I change my mind and would rather be around the tweens, I do have the option of switching to being a 6th grade teacher in a middle school.

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Sep 23, 2017

I'm totally elementary, but not for the reasons you have. I love teaching kids more than I love content. (And there is content I love)

4. TrademarkTer

TrademarkTer Companion

Sep 23, 2017

High school juniors....the past three years 90% of my students have been juniors. They are the most mature group, without having the "senioritis" and slacking that comes up for them next year. It is also the year they seem to be most focused on school and doing well as they are really starting to think about applying to colleges next year. I do end up needing to write close to 50 letters of rec when I have this many juniors, but I enjoy it. It's a bit of an extra workload in that respect, but the process lets me get to know the students better and helps us to form stronger connections, not to mention I usually get a nice collection of Starbucks or other gift cards from them when they get into their colleges (just an added perk, of course!)

ms.irene, Bioguru and SageScience like this.
  5. bella84

bella84 Fanatic

Sep 23, 2017