Which credential should I attempt next

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by starflower32, Jun 17, 2019.

1. starflower32

starflower32 Rookie

Jun 17, 2019

I graduated with a degree in Political Science and so I pursued a Social Studies 4-8 credential. Well apparently everyone wants to teach social studies. The advice I received was to pursue another certification area like Special Education. I took my subject exam for Special Ed yesterday and I am eagerly awaiting the results.

If I passed the Special Education EC-12 certification, will I be able to apply for Special Education positions right away, or do I also need something like Core Subjects 4-8?

If I can apply for positions right away, what certifications should I attempt next to make myself as marketable as possible. I'd love to teach social studies and coach, but I want a job!

3. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Jun 17, 2019

We have a terrible time finding math teachers and language arts teachers for middle school.

4. starflower32

starflower32 Rookie

Jun 17, 2019

I'd take a language arts position in a heartbeat! I'm not as confident in my math skills and I'm a bit nervous that if I get my core subjects certification they would have me teach math. :grimacing:

5. whizkid

whizkid Cohort

Jun 17, 2019

Since you mentioned coaching, perhaps P.E.?

6. whizkid

whizkid Cohort

Jun 17, 2019

Yep, the market is flooded with social studies credentials, even in a critical needs area such as here.

futuremathsprof likes this.
  7. vickilyn

vickilyn Magnifico

Jun 17, 2019