Where to go next

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by BioAngel, Aug 6, 2018.

1. BioAngel

BioAngel Science Teacher - Grades 3-6

Aug 6, 2018

Hubby and I are talking about moving some where in the mid-west to get away from the craziness of New Jersey. Love the state, love my school, but we cant seem to make ends meet enough to be able to buy a house and have kids. His job will allow him to move to any location that the store he works for has a location, so he thinks this is really up to me.

I'm thinking about PA, Ohio, Michigan (we have family here), VA, or Tennessee. But I really have no idea where to go looking. I'd love to have another elementary or middle school science position, I'd be okay with technology too. I have an expired NY state license and my degree is in Adolescence education in biology (7-12) which means I can teach general science too. I'm open to moving to public schools, but am also looking at maybe staying in independent schools.

Any thoughts?

3. ssgirl11

ssgirl11 Companion

Aug 6, 2018

I might be biased, but Ohio is awesome! Cost of living is relatively low, and it is not impossible to find a teaching job. I'm not sure what your husband does, but jobs are increasing here in the industrial field as well, if that is something that interests him. I'm pretty sure that an Ohio teaching license is reciprocated a lot of states, as well.

Also, we have Ohio State, the Cavs (minus LeBron :(), the Indians, and the Browns (still love them, even if they didn't win a single game last year!) We Ohioans have A LOT of pride in our state!

BioAngel likes this.
  4. BioAngel

Aug 6, 2018