Where are all the 5th grade teachers?

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by mrsammieb, Jun 3, 2014.

1. mrsammieb

mrsammieb Devotee

Jun 3, 2014

Hey... how's it going!

I know some of you may still be in school... but let's chat about the first days of school. What is your first day plans?? I'm new to 5th grade. Well, sorta new but it has been a while since teaching 5th. I'd love to hear how you start the year?

3. agdamity

agdamity Fanatic

Jun 3, 2014

I start with procedures, routines, and team building.

4. knitter63

knitter63 Groupie

Jun 3, 2014

I start with some get to know you activities, and team building. I also go over procedures.
    I do the first 20 days by Fountas and Pinnell, and Responsive Classroom as well.

5. mrsammieb

mrsammieb Devotee

Jun 4, 2014

I need to review the Fountas and Pinnell 20 days. I may need to look over Harry Wongs book too!

6. Miss_V_5

Miss_V_5 Rookie

Jun 4, 2014

I'm not sure.. Just found out that I will be teaching just math next year. I'll definitely go over policy and procedures, but I'm not sue what skill building activities I'll do yet. Times multiplication tests for sure.

7. Ellensmom

Ellensmom Companion

Jul 6, 2014

I am moving back to 5th grade year, after teaching 4th this past year. I've been in the school for 8 years, so I know the kiddos and families really well- I've had several of the siblings. I don't really need to do get to know you activities simply because the kids all know each other. It is a small private school, so they are always together.Since they are new to this end of the building, I will spend ALOT of time on procedures. They have lockers this year so they have to learn to stay organized, and will have 1 new teacher for 2 classes. I'm sure I will do some free writing samples and a classroom scavenger hunt, but other than that, I haven't started thinking.

8. WindyCityGal606

WindyCityGal606 Enthusiast

Jul 6, 2014