When is the best time to get pregnant?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by moran8198, Aug 17, 2006.

1. moran8198

moran8198 Rookie

Aug 17, 2006

I'm a first year teacher starting this September. I'm 28 years old and am getting concerned about when would be the best time to become pregnant. I know some people probably think I'm crazy for thinking this when I'm starting off my first year, and I'm non tenured. Problem is that I may have difficulty conceiving due to a medical reason. So, I'm worried that if I put it off for too long, I may regret. I would go back to work after the six week period, I don't think I'd be able to take family leave. But, I'm scared of being let go. I don't want to take time off my first year, so I'm not sure if planning it for the summer is the best way to go. I'm so confused. Any advice?

3. Mrs_Barrett

Mrs_Barrett Cohort

Aug 17, 2006

My husband and I are currently trying to conceive. I'm hoping to get pregnant and have the baby May, June, and July. But whatever happens, happens. I also have a medical problem that gives me problems with getting pregnant.

4. moran8198

moran8198 Rookie

Aug 17, 2006

are you non tenured

5. bonteach

bonteach Companion

Aug 17, 2006

My advice is don't let your school schedule dictate the time you get pregnant. The decision of when you will have a baby is often not your own. It took me over a year to get pregnant with my third child and that was with some minor medical intervention and a lot of prayer. The school that doesn't understand that is probably not the best place for a working mom any way. Life is too short to let a job dictate your life! Sorry you hit my soap box!
    Good Luck!

6. LuvTchng

LuvTchng Companion

Aug 17, 2006