What to expect at 2nd interview

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by kawikasgirl, May 20, 2006.

1. kawikasgirl

kawikasgirl Rookie

May 20, 2006

Hi everyone - I have a 2nd interview coming up on Monday and was wondering what to expect. I am a new teacher and have been long-term subing while looking for a permenant teaching job. I had an interview with this school district several weeks ago - it was a panel type interview with 5 principals (talk about being stressed!). Well, they called me back and asked me to come in for a 2nd interview for a 5th grade position. I am SOOOOO excited, but not sure what they're going to ask me since during the first interview, each of the principals asked me 3 questions each. I'd really appreciate some input...thanks and send a good word up for me - I really need the job!

3. Deeena

Deeena Cohort

May 20, 2006

Congrats on getting that 2nd interview! I would love to give advice, but I've hardly had a 1st interview. I noticed that you are from California. If you don't mind me asking, what school district did you get the 2nd interview from? Just wondering- I'm having a terrible time finding a job and I'm looking in both northern and southern Cali.
    Good luck with the interview!

4. kawikasgirl

kawikasgirl Rookie

May 20, 2006

Thanks Deena - I know what you mean, it's really awful trying to get a teaching job in California. I've gotten more rejection letters than interviews. My interview is with Yucaipa-Calimesa which is very close to where I live. Good luck with your search.

5. kramercindy

kramercindy Rookie

May 21, 2006

The one time I had a "second interview", I went in and met the other teachers I would be working with, followed them around for the day, and just kind of learned more about them. Unfortunately, I didn't get the position (the principal never called me back and told me). Anyway, that's what I would expect. I would imagine it's a good thing that you're getting a 2nd interview. Good Luck!