What states require only the Praxis to be Highly Qualified to teach a subject?

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by Airborne, May 15, 2011.

1. Airborne

Airborne Rookie

May 15, 2011

If I have a degree in Physical Education, I can become highly qualified to teach English or History in the state of Tennessee without having to obtain additional credit hours. All I have to do is pass the test.

Does anyone else know of any other states that does this as well? I've been searching all day and I've ruled out five states so far because they require additional programs or credit hours, as well as a test.

If anyone knows right off hand what their state requires for an endorsement, would you let me know. It would be nice if there was one website that explained all this. I'm just trying to figure out how to become more marketable for getting a job.

3. schoolteacher

schoolteacher Habitué

4. DaveG

DaveG Companion

May 15, 2011

Being highly qualified is a NCLB (federal) requirement and most states don't use this as the primary determination of qualifications for teaching.

Most states require an endorsement on a teaching certificate to teach a specific subject. By the looks of what you're saying, if someone already has a teaching certificate, then they can just take the Praxis to be endorsed in another secondary subject?

That's not the case in Illinois.

5. Cerek

Cerek Aficionado

May 15, 2011

NC is the same. I am certified in middle school math, but I only need to pass the Praxis II tests on content and pedagogy to become highly qualified in high school math as well.

Also, I'm pretty sure TN has reciprocity with NC,so your credentials should transfer. The same is true for GA as well.

6. Airborne

Airborne Rookie

May 17, 2011

Ok an update for anyone else interested in this question:

Virginia and North Carolina both allow you to add an endorsement by only taking the Praxis II