What do you mean?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by txmomteacher2, Apr 21, 2009.

1. txmomteacher2

txmomteacher2 Connoisseur

Apr 21, 2009

Subbing will soon be over for the year so I was looking for a summer job. So I applied to this temp agency that had a summer camp secretary position. All the add said was be able to talk to campers and their parents ages 6-13. Able to answer the phone, some computer skills, be energetic, all the typical add stuff oh and be able to work some weekends. They pay was ok but it was close to home. So I fill out the app and did some sort of computer skills test on the internet. Today the temp agency called and said I didn't have enough skills to do this job. I was floored. I have a freaking masters degree in teaching. I talk to to parents everyday, even as a sub I still talk to some parents. I have two kids that are the ages of 6-13. I can email, I can put pictures on the web. I can answer the phone and I can write a check. All my little computer skills test I did very well on except the typing one. Ok so I can't type fast but I can get it done. I was pretty ticked off when I got the phone call in fact thinking about it makes my BP go up. How can I be underqualified for this position. It can take a rocket scientist to do this job. I hope I am not offending anyone who is or has been a secretary. I just know that I can do this job, even with my lack of so called skills.

3. sevenplus

sevenplus Connoisseur

Apr 21, 2009

Well, I've been a secretary, but I got turned down for a job at Wal-Mart once.

4. emmakate218

emmakate218 Connoisseur

Apr 21, 2009

This is totally and utterly ridiculous!

What's sad is that you more than likely have far more skills, intelligence, and education that the people running the temp agency, but for some reason, they're qualified to decide that someone that has a master's degree isn't qualified for a secretarial position.

This has seriously rubbed me the wrong way. Ugh.

5. txmomteacher2