What could this mean??

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by HOPE-fulTeacher, May 5, 2012.

1. HOPE-fulTeacher

HOPE-fulTeacher Comrade

May 5, 2012

My P called me this morning (on a Saturday) and said she'd been meaning to stop by the past week, but during the school day things had gotten busy and I'd had other commitments after school by the time she stopped by.

She knows that I go in often on Sundays asked if we could meet tomorrow (Sunday). She said on the phone just to "foreshadow" some things for tomorrow that she's going to have one of our part time reading interventionists (who's a retired 1st grade teacher) work with me for the rest of the year since "things have been difficult". The interventionist's groups will be switched to our other 2 interventionists schedules.

This is my first year teaching. I have had a difficult class this year, and I have had a very hard time dealing with some of the more extreme situations that have come up. I don't like sending kids to the office, but I have had a kid in the office probably 3 times a week in the last couple months. (It's usually the same kid, although sometimes there are another one of two of them that play off the first and continue their shenanigans once the first one has left.) Behaviors that I am talking about are running around the room, making loud, grating noises, tipping over chairs, moving tables apart, going into other kids' stuff and taking it or breaking it, etc. (That last thing about the students' stuff is something that's particularly annoying because no 6 yr old is going to be able to concentrate on learning when another kid is breaking their favorite pencil or going into their personal cubby.) I only send them when I have not been able to deescalate the situation and it's reached the point where the behaviors have interrupted the whole class and other kids are having a hard time focusing on their jobs. I did not have these kinds of classroom management problems in my student teachin