What are your part time jobs?

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by VANewbie, Aug 7, 2011.

1. VANewbie

VANewbie Devotee

Aug 7, 2011

My last post about living paycheck to paycheck I said I was looking for a 2nd job.

What jobs do you work besides tutoring?

I need the extra money but I do not want something that has me working late nights after school and something too hard that will have me so tired the next morning with the kids.

I know tutoring and maybe retail or a coffee shop, painting pottery type place.

3. Major

Major Connoisseur

Aug 7, 2011

What ever is on the Honey-Do list........:lol:

4. TennisPlayer

TennisPlayer Cohort

Aug 7, 2011

As a nanny, you can charge almost twice min wage with educ background.

5. VANewbie

VANewbie Devotee

Aug 7, 2011

Do people really need nanny's afterschool? I was thinking they would want maybe a high school babysitter. I'll look into that.

6. Lynn K.

Lynn K. Habitué

Aug 7, 2011

I worked in retail for years and years and years. I may go back if I can find a store that is 1. close to home and 2. open no later than 9pm.

Now, though, I work for Adult Basic Learning Education. I test students who are interested in (or court ordered to) get their GEDs.

7. scienceteach82

scienceteach82 Cohort

Aug 7, 2011

Secret shopper

8. Ms. I

Ms. I Maven

Aug 7, 2011

I haven't worked a 2nd job in God knows how long, but how about the following less hectic jobs:

- bookstores
    - hotel front desk (can get hectic)
    - florist
    - art & crafts store
    - museum
    - hobby store

9. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Aug 7, 2011

One of my friends worked a retail job for years. She worked weekends, holidays, and summers. She did not work Sunday night to Thursday night. She not only liked that the job was easy, but she loved the employee discount. It was also nothing at all like her teaching job, so she liked the escape from education.