What app do you use to help you learn more about your students?

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by Saad Benry, Apr 19, 2017.

1. Saad Benry

Saad Benry Rookie

Apr 19, 2017

Hi,

I am an education technology product developer, although I am not a teacher I am interested in how students learn and how teachers learn about their students to better guide them throughout their education.

I would like to ask an open question : What methods, applications, skills do you use to personalize your teaching to each of your students?

Thanks in advance!

3. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Apr 19, 2017

I spend a lot of time talking and listening to them. I can't think of any other method that will help me know them better.

4. Saad Benry

Saad Benry Rookie

Apr 19, 2017

Agreed that it does appear that tools will never replace humans! On the other hand, what are you identifying as you talk and listen to them? Do you have a process to identify strengths and weakness or do you rely on feelings? Do you take notes about each student's learner profile ?

5. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Apr 19, 2017

It's not that complicated. I just talk with them.

6. mathmagic

mathmagic Enthusiast

Apr 19, 2017

The only apps I use are iTalkToThem and iGetToKnowThem ;)

Of course, they also use IXL, and a couple other tech tools academically, but that's just like any work they'd do in class and I'd look at as formative assessment.

SpecialPreskoo and carolinafan like this.
  7. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Apr 19, 2017

This.

8. Saad Benry

Saad Benry Rookie

Apr 21, 2017

Good one!

I do see the point you are trying to make. As you are talking and listening to them, do you just take mental notes for each student's specific needs? What do you pay attention to?

9. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Apr 21, 2017

It's really not that complicated. You just talk a little and listen a lot, the same thing you would do with other important people in your life.