weather unit

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by newteacher52, Aug 30, 2011.

1. newteacher52

newteacher52 Rookie

Aug 30, 2011

Hello everyone,

I am starting a weather unit with my 1st graders and I was wondering if anyone had any great ideas to share with me? I'm a student teacher, so i'm definately in need of ideas! anything would help! thanks! :)

3. Sarge

Sarge Enthusiast

Aug 30, 2011

Temperature game: have them estimate the current outside temperature. You need internet access.

First, have each kid tell you what they think the current temperature is based on how it feels outside - must be done right after recess.

After you record their answers, reveal the current temperature according to your favorite weather website. Closest answers win. When I do it, I even try to not peek beforehand and take part in the game myself. The kids have a good incentive to try and beat me. And some do.

To be consistent, use the same website each time. This activity can and should be done multiple times even throughout the year.

The objective is for students to understand what various temperatures "feel" like and that 70 is a nice day, but 105 is really hot and 45 is really cold. They will start to associate that number called "temperature" to an actual atmospheric condition.

You should notice, over time, that their answers will start to bear a closer reality to what it is like outside.

4. newteacher52

newteacher52 Rookie

Sep 1, 2011

oooh, that sounds like it would be lots of fun! I love it, thank you!

5. trayums

trayums Enthusiast

Sep 5, 2011