Waiting on interview

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Anonymous Barbie, Apr 5, 2017.

1. Anonymous Barbie

Anonymous Barbie Rookie

Apr 5, 2017

I posted before about a potential job opportunity at my local high school. The principal and the dean of students both approached me on a day I was subbing to tell me that the position went up online, and I came in a few days later and talked with the principal. He wrote a lot down on my resume as we talked.

I have 1:1 experience with chromebooks, which they use. I have a BA in the subject and a Master's degree in education. I have 3 years experience. I also live 5 minutes from the high school, and it's a very sparsely populated area, so I doubt there are people already living here with my qualifications.

The principal told me in our meeting that he would start calling about interviews after spring break (this is our first week back). The job listing previously had an expiration date of April 3, but now that I'm looking at it, it says April 10. I'm sitting here worrying that the apply-by date was extended because they weren't happy with the applicants they were getting.

I'm worried that this means they don't think I'm a strong candidate, or that they aren't considering me. Any reassuring words of wisdom out there? Maybe from people who've been on the hiring side of things?

3. Bioguru

Bioguru Companion

Apr 5, 2017

I certainly can't speak for all schools, but I know that ours likes a minimum number of candidates before they close the application. I was in the same spot you were in five years ago. I was asked to apply for the job by the principal, and knew with 100% certainty I was going to get it, but they still wanted to have a certain number to apply and interview for whatever reason. I wouldn't stress over it at all.

Anonymous Barbie likes this.
  4. Anonymous Barbie

Anonymous Barbie Rookie

Apr 20, 2017