Virginians - What has your experience been?

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by MetalTeacher, Oct 27, 2016.

1. MetalTeacher

MetalTeacher Companion

Oct 27, 2016

I'm from Virginia and want to stay here to teach as I hear it's one of the better states to teach in. Wondering what everyone's experience in their particular districts have been, what the culture of the schools you've found yourselves in are like. (I have ideas about where I want to end up of course, but I'm sure there's great places I haven't considered, or misconceptions I have about places I have.)

3. FrankFromFranklin

FrankFromFranklin Rookie

Oct 28, 2016

Hello! I am a first year teacher in southern Virginia. I teach high school World History. I can honestly say that I am not enjoying my experience here so far. The school I teach at is extremely small (380 students combined for all 4 grades). We also have a very weak administration where students do whatever they want and usually don't get in trouble for anything short of physical altercations.

Also, the SOL tests are a major pain in the butt, especially because I only have 40 total students and we are one of the schools who just received accreditation and the pressure is on to keep that status.

I am looking forward to seeking other opportunities throughout Virginia. I have never seen a school function like this, so I am not going to rule out teaching at another Virginia school.

4. MetalTeacher

MetalTeacher Companion

Oct 28, 2016

I'm sorry it hasn't been going well! Hopefully you find something you like more soon, or the situation improves.

That's not an area I've looked into much. I've mostly been looking at Charlottesville and Albemarle County, and Williamsburg/James City County (but a couple parts of NOVA as well.)

5. FrankFromFranklin

FrankFromFranklin Rookie

Oct 28, 2016

I would love to live in the Charlottesville area! Especially being a history teacher

MetalTeacher likes this.
  6. ms.irene

ms.irene Connoisseur