Valentines Day

Discussion in 'General Education' started by callmebob, Feb 13, 2015.

1. callmebob

callmebob Enthusiast

Feb 13, 2015

Anyone else hate days like this in the classroom. Particularly elementary classrooms.

3. missrebecca

missrebecca Comrade

Feb 13, 2015

Yes! Well, any day that throws off my students' routine is annoying. It's my first year teaching 1st grade, and we had noticeably more behavior problems due to the excitement of our Valentine's Day party (and the 3 day weekend coming up).

When I taught 4th grade, the kids could handle the excitement better and it was pretty fun.

4. readingrules12

readingrules12 Fanatic

Feb 13, 2015

Valentine's Day is one of my favorite days as a teacher most years. I have had 1 or 2 years where the party has gone wrong, and I wasn't the one leaving the day smiling.

What I love about Valentines Day, is it is the one true time that all the students are really, really happy. All students have a huge supply of little cardboard Valentines with some cheap candy. No one is left out, often no one is complaining, and everyone is in such huge smiles from such innocent little items.

I think the world could learn a lesson by watching an elementary school classroom on Valentine's Day. I know I have.

5. AlexaD

AlexaD Companion

Feb 13, 2015

I felt very happy yesterday watching the pure joy on my students' faces as they got their Valentines. They had a blast. I have a really low tolerance for noise but yesterday I let it all go. We had a good time.

6. missrebecca

missrebecca Comrade

Feb 13, 2015

Actually, I just remembered that one of my favorite moments ever teaching was on Valentine's Day -- my worst behaved student, who was always in the office or suspended for aggressive behavior (occasionally directed at me), had extra heart stickers. He gave me all of them, along with a superhero Valentine's Day card. For a few moments, all was right with the world.

7. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Feb 13, 2015