University of Phoenix

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by snickydog, Jul 29, 2008.

1. snickydog

snickydog Groupie

Jul 29, 2008

Has anyone taken education classes through University of Phoenix? I want to add an ELL endorsement and was wondering how their classes are.

3. ArizonaTchr72

ArizonaTchr72 Companion

Jul 29, 2008

I am currently working on my masters through UOP Online. I have found the classes to be very challenging. They are also quite expensive. I have enjoyed my classes so far, but the school is big on group work!

4. Mable

Mable Enthusiast

Jul 29, 2008

I did my master's and principal licensure through UOP. It's easy to get enrolled but once they have you enrolled, I feel like they "drop" you and don't offer much support. I do agree with ArizonaTchr72 that group work is a HUGE HUGE part of the programs which I find ridiculous. My main stress through both programs was my GROUP not my actual content or classes which I find to be crazy.

5. EDUK8_ME

EDUK8_ME Cohort

Jul 29, 2008

I took a 3 week online course a few years ago. I loved that I could work from home and at my own pace. But the class was intense and I was always on the computer or reading the course text book. We were required to write 3 papers about 3 pages in length and respond frequently posts and other classmates responses. I also enjoyed getting to know other educators from all over the U.S. The U of P course was cheaper than the the 3 week course I just finished at a local university.

6. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jul 29, 2008

There's been much discussion of UOP here in the past-you could probably do a search for the threads. Ask your administrator about how well received UOP is in our area. There is a lot of 'bad press' about UOP and many districts do not look favorably upon its programs.

7. Mable

Mable Enthusiast

Jul 29, 2008

We've hired 4 new teachers from UOP within the last 2 years.

8. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jul 30, 2008