Unique question regarding teacher certification

Discussion in 'General Education' started by joealee, Feb 10, 2018.

1. joealee

joealee Rookie

Feb 10, 2018

Hello everyone.

This is my first post, but I have read and learned quite a lot from this forum---so first let me say thank you!

A little background: I currently work as a Level 1 TA.
    I love my job, but want to finish what I need for my New York State teacher certification in secondary Social Studies.

Now here is where things get tricky, so much to the point that I haven't found out any answers regarding my situation.

I currently have a Master's in Education and a B.A. in History. I started on a path to certification in an M.A.T. program, in which I did four months of student teaching (my program required a full year). At the halfway point of student teaching I had to leave this program (on good terms) to take care of an ill family member. This would not allow me to finish my M.A.T. program. However, I was determined to finish my Master's degree online while attending to my family responsibilities, so I switched from the M.A.T. program to the Master's in Education program at the same school. This way most of my MAT classes transferred over and I could at least get my Master's by finishing the classes/final project online. It is important to note though that the program I switched to is NOT a certification program, even though some of the classes are the same.

I know a Master's in Education opens up many other opportunities, but I really do want to teach, but not sure how I can complete my certification in NYS.

First, I would still have to take the certification tests. I am confident I could pass these, but can I take them now that I am done with my schooling?

Finally, since it is NYS, I need to take the edTPA. Not sure if I could do this now that I have received my degree and am out of the program.